x
48h OFFER
If you're already a customer of
our homeusers protection,
renew now with a 50% off
RENEW NOW
x
SPECIAL OFFER
If you're already a customer of
our homeusers protection,
renew now with a 50% off
RENEW NOW
x
HALLOWEEN OFFER
take advantage of our
terrific discounts
BUY NOW AND GET A 50% OFF
x
CHRISTMAS OFFER
Buy the best antivirus
at the best price
BUY NOW AND GET A 40% OFF
x
SPECIAL OFFER
Buy the best antivirus
at the best price
BUY NOW AND GET A 50% OFF
x
BLACKFRIDAY OFFER
Buy the best antivirus
at the best price
TODAY ONLY UP TO 70% OFF
x
CYBERMONDAY OFFER
Buy the best antivirus
at the best price
(Only for homeusers)
TODAY ONLY UP TO 70% OFF
Active Scan. Scan your PC free
Panda Protection

Virus Encyclopedia

Welcome to the Virus Encyclopedia of Panda Security.

Koobface.GQ

Threat LevelLow threatDamageHighDistributionNot widespread
Common name:Koobface.GQ
Technical name:W32/Koobface.GQ.worm
Threat level:Medium
Type:Worm
Effects:  

Its main aim is to spread itself via the social network Facebook and affect as many computers as possible. It displays a message on screen requiring users to enter some characters on the screen in order to avoid the computer restart.

Affected platforms:

Windows 2003/XP/2000/NT/ME/98/95

First detected on:Dec. 3, 2009
Detection updated on:Dec. 4, 2009
StatisticsNo

Brief Description 

    

Koobface.GQ is a worm whose main aim is to spread itself via the social network Facebook and affect as many computers as possible.

Additionally, it connects to a certain website in order to download malicious files, which belong to other variants of Koobface in order to extend its spread.

Visible Symptoms 

    

Koobface.GQ is easy to recognize, as it shows the following symptoms:

  • It publishes a link to a video in the affected user's Facebook main site, which will be shared to all their contacts. If the link is followed, a website similar to YouTube's (actually YuoTube) is displayed:

  • When it is run, it displays a message like the following on the screen:


    This message informs users that they have to enter some characters and if they don't, the computer will be restarted in 3 minutes.